Eating Around: Steak and Co, Haymarket, London

img_1319For one of my Christmas presents, my parents had bought me tickets to see my favourite musical, The Phantom of the Opera, with my Mum due to accompany me for a mother-daughter date one evening after work. For such an occasion as this, we needed a restaurant where the food suited our required taste standards as renowned foodies, but that also had good quality service so we wouldn’t be scrambling for the bill in a mad rush to the theatre once we had eaten. Mum suggested the Haymarket branch of Steak and Co, a stone’s throw from the theatre, and I happily agreed; as a lusty carnivore, what could go wrong with steak?

The décor at Steak and Co is both fantastically rustic yet strategically opulent, creating a juxtaposition between the simple pleasure of exquisite, quality meat and the world of London fine dining. Pale wooden slats covered the walls img_1320next to decadently studded red leather sofa style seating, dark chocolate coloured wooden tables contrasting to the modern blue-grey of exterior facing pillars and the domed, lower hanging lighting. It had a welcoming and inviting atmosphere, with a strange sense of home yet also luxury, so it felt like a treat, but not one that would make you uncomfortable due to unnecessary finery.

Our waitress was brilliant. Beating Mum there by a few minutes, she settled me on the table with the menus and throughout the course of the evening, proceeded to give us her advice and comments on particulars of certain dishes, passing on recommendations and her favourite combinations. It is so refreshing to be served by someone who has a clear passion for the food rather than someone there just because they have to, and I’d say she really helped enhance our whole Steak and Co experience.

img_1322As I ordered a large glass of Merlot, I began scanning the menu. For starters, I chose the baked camembert; a dish I absolutely adore but rarely treat myself too due to the mind-boggling number of calories I suspect it contains. But I digress. Firstly, I was impressed by the size. Usually baked camembert is presented as a sharing dish, however Steak and Co managed to find a camembert that was a perfect single portion that was neither disappointingly small or large enough for two. It was really spot on and I cut open the white skin of the cheese eagerly. Served with a sticky and sweet onion chutney, I slathered this on diagonally cut toasted seeded bread before dunking enthusiastically into the liquid vat of bright yellow melted cheese, encased with the wobbling white skin, the whole cheese still sat in its attractive wooden rounded box. I could have applauded as there was also plenty of bread for me to dip – this is another restaurant bugbear of mine as so many places never give you enough img_1324bread for dipping purposes, but this was excellent. Definitely one of the best starters I’ve had and although it is a simple and uncomplicated dish, it just proves that something as tiny as getting the portion size of each component right, can make such a difference to the dining experience.

Next on the agenda was main course. To be honest, Mum and I blotted out the entire menu and we focused in on the steak section. Last time Mum visited, she didn’t actually have steak, so we had to rectify this in a swift and efficient manner. For the steak dishes, you could choose what type of steak you wanted, and then you also got to pick a rub, a butter and a sauce to go with it. Informing me that we were having the fillet steak, Mum and I then just had to pick our extras. I decided to for the garlic butter, paired with the paprika salt rub and finished with the red wine sauce. We also picked some sides to share, opting for mac and cheese, dauphinoise potatoes and sweet potato fries.

img_1323The way Steak and Co do steak is so much fun. Your dish arrives on a large wooden chopping board, a rectangular white plate on the left hand side showcasing your impressive lump of steak, pre-cooked to rare. On the right had side of your board are three small glass bowls lined up at the front, containing your butter, salt and sauce. Behind these is a black hot dish. The idea is you place a blob of your butter on the hot dish so that it begins to melt; you then cut a slice off your chunk of steak and place it on top of the butter, personally cooking it to the ideal level for you. Here, you can also add your salt rub before flipping your cooking steak slice over to cook the other side, adding more butter or rub as required before spearing the slice with your fork and dunking generously in your sauce. It’s hands on but not messy; cooking your own meal but still classy fine dining; it’s wonderfully different and full-on flavours married together in completely individual combinations. I loved it! The img_1325steak was wonderful quality and literally melt-in-the-mouth beautiful, especially as I kept mine on the pinker side. My garlic butter was lovely with that warming tang of garlic really infusing into the steak slices as I cooked them in the butter, regularly patting the paprika salt on too which only added to the flavourful warmth without blowing my socks off with heat. The red wine sauce was also a delight, being the perfect consistency to coat the meat neatly and having a really rich and deep taste that I think marries so well beef.

Our sides were lovely too. The mac and cheese had a great crunch on top yet was a mass of squidgy small pasta pieces below, decadently covered in cheesy goodness. The sweet potato fries were thin, crispy and pretty standard, while the dauphinoise potatoes were very elegant and delicious. Our meal was certainly a feast and it was brilliant.

Despite being rather full at this point, I eagerly accepted the dessert menu and soon found my eyes drifting towards img_1321the malteaser cheesecake. Uniquely, the dessert menu really draws you in as it has a picture of every dessert available in there, probably designed to get you ignoring your full tummy and eating with your eyes instead so you order more. It worked on us and although I don’t usually have cheesecake, this one was a nice small size so I wouldn’t overdo it and it also featured one of my favourite chocolates. To be honest with you, it was a nice cheesecake but not anything super special. It was a simple vanilla flavour with a crumb base, topped with pearls of malteasers and drizzled with chocolate and caramel sauces. It was very pretty and dainty and was a nice way to finish the bill.

Despite Mum’s credit card whimpering as it paid the bill, I can’t recommend the food I ate here enough. In particular, the main course and starter were both wonderful and although dessert wasn’t as good, it was still lovely; you’re just hard pushed to find something that could possibly compete with steak that succulent and tender. Washed down with a very drinkable Merlot, this meal was top notch and the service was faultless. I literally cannot wait to go back and do it all again.

img_1326

Leave a Reply

