Hidden Extra: Trunk Bar, Warren Street, London

Inside Trunk

Inside Trunk

Since I had bagged myself a new job, I wanted my leaving drinks to be something snazzy, stylish and emphatic of the atmospheric buzz that sums up our cheekily loveable capital. My soon to be ex-manager recommended just the place – a classic little cocktail bar snuggled away opposite Warren Street tube station, decked out in decadently dark black from the outside, I was intrigued as to what the inside could offer.

Portmanteau

Portmanteau

All eclectic and upper class, Trunk has some serious swank factor and it oozes glamour yet comfort in its bar come restaurant. Trunk was totally textured, with wave like wall art in modern shades of mocha, caramel and leather brown, with warm ceiling lights spooling light in puddles. We had reserved an area, which turned out to be a tidy corner spot by the front window, one brown fabric covered sofa with its back to the window, the other beside it to form an ‘L’ shape. A low glossy coffee table continued the right angles, although small cylindrical stools peppered the other side of the coffee table. There was plenty of space for a crowd and where we tucked to one side, it felt rather intimate and private, as well as being a simple stride’s length away from the all-important bar.

The bar was bejewelled with an impressive array of glasses in a variety of shapes and sizes to suit any cocktail that happened to cross the bartender’s path, the bottles of luscious liqueurs lined up against a gleaming mirrored backdrop. Perusing the cocktail menu was completely delectable, with all of the options offering a dazzling array of fresh flavours – I struggled to make any choices as they all sounded so wonderful and opulent. This simply meant that I ended up working my way through the menu…

Rhubarb-tini

Rhubarb-tini

I kicked things off with a Rhubarb-tini, a sickly sweet punch with vanilla vodka mixed with rhubarb syrup and grenadine. The syrup was more like a puree, so it had a really natural fruity flavour and quite a thick consistency, with a tangy bitterness distinctive of rhubarb. Gorgeous! Since my first martini style beverage was such a hit, I moved on to the Pomegranate and Elderflower Martini which was a fresh and slightly bubbly cocktail that had a classic floralish twist on the traditional.

Pomegrante and Elderflower Martini

Pomegrante and Elderflower Martini

Despite having difficulties saying it, I also ordered myself a Portmanteau that looked so divine with knobbles of blackberries balancing along the top of the globule shaped glass. With a layer of raspberry liqueur adorning the bottom of the glass, this one also contained rum, Malibu, coconut cream and pineapple juice, giving it a uniquely fruity yet smoothly strong taste. I couldn’t overly taste the raspberry though so it didn’t completely tick all of my boxes. Looked wonderful though.

Since my partner is Jack Daniels man, he couldn’t resist sampling the Maple Jack, with the traditional whiskey muddled with maple syrup and orange bitter for a citrus cut to the sweetness. He loved the combo of punchy spirit and zesty fruit, so that one hit the nail on the head.

Maple Jack

Maple Jack

On the whole, I think Trunk is a bit of a hidden gem. Ok, laying the cards on the table – it’s not a cheap night out if you want to enjoy the cocktails. We stuck to the classic cocktail selection and ended up paying around £8 per drink, which is a tad eye-watering, despite being what you would expect in central London. The décor definitely creates a glamorous ambience – I felt trendy just by perching myself on the edge of the sofa let alone treating myself to a drink. The cocktail menu was fabulous, with a creative and imaginative selection that used some really different and interesting combinations that I hadn’t seen before. They didn’t just stick to the same old options, but they didn’t go too ‘out there’ either, so menu wise, it was ideal and certainly tempting enough for me. The bar staff were a tad slow, but then creating cocktails does take more time than just plonking some wine in a glass. I had a lovely evening and I would definitely like to return to Trunk – it would be perfect for a girls night out, or a small birthday bash with close pals. Thumbs up from me.

Bar area

Bar area

Leave a Reply

